Lyver Trophy 2015

  • July 02, 2015

On the 3rd of July the Liverpool Yacht Club and Royal Dee Yacht Club will be holding the Biennial Lyver Trophy Race once again.

The bi-annual race was founded in 1997 by Gordon Dewar from Liverpool Yacht Club, as a joint initiative with the Royal Dee Yacht Club. The aim was to provide a Fastnet qualifying race for boats based in ports around the North West, including Liverpool, Blackpool, Isle of Man, Fleetwood, Pwllheli, Holyhead and the Irish ports. The first race in 1997 started in Liverpool and ended in Pwllheli, and the race in 1999 went from Liverpool to Howth via Isle of Man. This years race will start on the Holyhead Sailing club start line. The contestants will then have to face the challenges of the Irish sea to get to the finish line at Dun Laoghaire Harbour Entrance.

Each vessel will have a YB Tracker on board. The tracker wakes up every fifteen minutes or so to collect data such as gps co-ordinates, speed and direction to name a few. This information is then transmitted back to an online map so that organisers and the public can view the race's progression in real time.

For more information please visit the race website


<< Back to Blog